A Day in the Life of Young Pastor 1

Posted: March 31, 2009 in Uncategorized

It was overwhelming today as I began my first day on the job as the new lead pastor of VX church. One of the things that has been standing out to me is that it is about more than just being the captain. It is about being the shipbuilder. I spent most of the day working on the church-vision, values, priorities etc.-than working in the church. I have never thought about these things for such long periods of time and I am surprised that it energizes me the way that it does.

Other than that I worked on the sermon for this week which is about the guards at the tomb of Jesus and their perspective on the resurrection and I also emailed and text messaged some folks about logistical things for this coming service and my appreciation for the festivities yesterday.

I am only taking one class for the quarter which is the African Roots of Black Theology led by Dr. Ralph Watkins. It also started today and it is already making my head spin with questions. So that should keep me occupied when I’m not doing the family or the church thang.

So that’s Day 1. I’m sleepy yet energized. Inspired and tired. Anxious and confident all at the same time. Although this job can be overwhelming I made a promise to myself to treat my wife and son well and let Jesus handle the rest 🙂

Leave a Reply

