Things I learned this quarter at Fuller

Posted: June 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

I haven’t blogged in a minute. Mostly because I have been knee deep in school assignments. Plus I have been pastoring a church and taking care of a family 🙂 This has been an amazing quarter at Fuller! My two classes have been presenting me with quality content that is relevant to our unique ministry situation at VX church and to my own personal life. It is a great thing to have your mind blown academically but an even greater thing to have your mind blown spiritually and that is just what happened in Lifelong Development and Cross Cultural Dynamics of Global Leadership. Here are some things that I have learned from these classes:

1. A multicultural church or team deals with a complex set of issues that beg for a missiological approach to leadership (basically when you put people from different cultures together you need to think like a missionary in order to lead them well)

2. God does not want super apostles. He wants servants of the New Covenant (He wants folks who derive strength from weakness and not from external things)

3. A leader’s social base is a key factor in determining their span of influence and whether they finish well

All of these were great lessons but the last one really struck home. A leader’s social base is personal living environment out of which a leader operates and which provides emotional support, economic support, strategic support, and basic physical needs. In essence, it is home and family. As we began doing our social base assignment in class I realize that in one way or another my social base has been deficient in at least two of the areas mentioned for most of my life. Knowing this makes me realize two things:

1. God is full of grace. I could have been left on the side of the road or had a nervous breakdown but he has used me beyond my wildest dreams. He has given me a beautiful wife and the most adorable kids. I have grown in wisdom over the years and have had some awesome experiences in the world of church and ministry.

2. Along with that I see this next section of my life as the time to be a good steward of all that he has given me. It is time to put margins in my life. Health margins, financial margins, emotional margins. If I don’t I will not last as a leader, as a husband, as a father, and most importantly as a follower of Christ.

Y’all pray for me and mine.

Comments
  1. Daryl Lovingood says:

    Keep on keeping on brother Gods not thru Blessing you

Leave a Reply

