Why I am not blogging

Posted: April 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

For the next ten weeks anyways. For about a month now I have been trying to figure out how I could blog consistently and still continue with all of my responsibilities. We have just been through one of the harshest six months that our family has ever experienced with sleeping on the couch due to repairs to the bathroom and kids room with sickness being thrown on top of that. So my blogging has been slacking as of late. Now after much pondering I have finally reached a conclusion that with my current quarter in school, family responsibilities, and church responsibilities it is just not going to happen. This is such a hard thing for me to do but I realize that I am so busy I am not blogging anyway 🙂 I just have to publicly state it in order for it to not weigh on my mind and become another thing that I am not living up to. So I am going on a hiatus until the summer. After that I will only be doing online classes and writing my thesis. This will give me enough time to blog at least once a week.

In the meantime I am deciding what I should blog about when I return and I hope that you can help me by taking this survey and letting me know what you think. What do you think are the strongest subjects I should focus on?

Comments
  1. Marilyn says:

    No guilt in taking a blogging hiatus! Good for you to let us know so we don’t worry about you. Also, as you said, so you don’t feel like it’s an expectation hanging out there.

    The strongest subjects you should focus on….I know you are looking for the BIG umbrella like theology, culture, reconciliation issues, etc. but I have a strong leaning and vote for the small slice of life – the anecdote – that catches your eye/ear in the course of a day. The brief exchange, the comment that lingers long after the conversation ends, something you saw/heard that hangs with you, the question you keep coming back to. There’s a reason your antennae pick up things others don’t. As you write about the signals you pick up, you will discover the connecting thread and yourself. God is using your antennae.

    Just my thought on it.
    Have a great quarter and don’t sweat the blog.

  2. 1. the spirituality of hip hop

    2. street psalms – i want to hear some poetry from you

    3. I’d love for you to blog your thesis as well!

  3. Ramon says:

    @-Marilyn It definitely feels better to not have it looming over my head.

    I think you are on to something with those things that our antennae pick up. I will keep my antennae up and look for the way that God is using them

    @Steven-I have definitely been toying with the spirituality of hip hop for a long time. As far as the poetry it is all about pace for me and the more quiet my heart is the more God pours the verses in. I will also definitely put the thesis up as well as my notes on research.

    Thanks for the input!

  4. Steven says:

    Brother, some times I wanna chuck my computer! much less the blog…

    so no worries about taking a break!

    In all honesty, I think the Vineyard needs some real thought being given to an ethnically diverse perspective on what it means to be ‘Vineyard.’

    What I mean is this:

    The only real contribution I see non-majority people making to Vineyard theology and praxis is on the topic of multiculturalism itself (at least on a national level). This is helpful, but I want more. I need to hear from ‘other groups’ on the topic of ‘other groups,’ but I really need to hear from other groups on the topics of Kingdom Theology, worship, discipleship, church governance and leadership, etc…

    What I am saying is, the Vineyard is trying to include voices from the margin, but so far we have only let those voices speak on one issue. And, while I can find some great voices from the Black, Latino, or International Church to speak on those issues, they usually aren’t very ‘Vineyard.’

    • mayotron says:

      Steven,

      Thanks for that push towards speaking into the Vineyard. Honestly I sometimes wonder if anyone wants to hear from me especially because my social location in and outside of the Vineyard is at the margins. Well you will definitely hear more but first I gotta get through this quarter. Second week and I am getting pounded!

    • man…I love that Steve. Seriously. Although I know they are having Homero Garcia speak at the National conference (which by the way Ramon: are you going to the conference in Phoenix? If so, we definitely have to connect!), although I guess is you are right Steve, he’ll probably speak on diversity…and they are having Dianne speak, but other wise it’s all pretty monochrome and male. we need diverse people speaking deeply at the core of our movement from being at the margins!

      peace

      • mayotron says:

        @Steven-I will b at the conference and we definitely need to hook up. Email me your number. And yes I will definitely begin to speak on other issues besides ethnicity. There is so much that God has given me from my journey and I have to admit-I have let my social location at the margins of our movement drown out my voice. But I think this is a good confirmation to speak freely.

    • Marilyn says:

      I feel a little like I’m eavesdropping, but have to say I loved Steve’s insight here!

Leave a Reply

