My life without a laptop

Posted: June 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

For the past two weeks I have been living sans laptop and this was not by choice. The only time that I have lived without access to my laptop for so long has been during brief stints in other countries where it seemed carrying around a laptop was more of a burden than a blessing. As a matter of fact now that I think about it, even here in the States it has been freeing to not be bound to my laptop. Just like Harold Camping I found out that the world did not have to end. I actually focused myself more and was more disciplined. I spent more time listening and talking to the important people in my life.

On the other hand having a laptop gives me power and there are places in the world that this kind of mobile technology is revolutionary. Literally. So I am not anti technology but I also realize the joy and the focus that comes from the simple life. I thought I could not live without my laptop but I learned that even without my laptop I still had a life.

What about you? What thing could you not go without?

Leave a Reply

