Am I too hard on black people???

Posted: June 17, 2011 in christianity, church, culture, multiethnic, personal, social justice, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I just had a long FB debate/discussion concerning my last blog post. One of the things that was brought up was that I was singling out African Americans in the Eddie Long situation as the only ones who are too lenient with their leaders. It is painfully obvious that there are fallen leaders in the Body of Christ and many people will give them undying loyalty. I think that is a given. What I am attempting to communicate and what I have noticed is that as a people I believe that we let things slide too much and this is to the detriment of our community. From that perspective I could care less what Haggard, Swaggart, Bakker or whoever else have done. It is grievous spiritually but I am talking from a social perspective. African Americans as a people group are in a greater danger for allowing our leaders to abuse and manipulate us. We have the least amount of assets. We also are more prone to let our lives be guided by the church. The preacher still has a huge voice in the community and competes with the rapper for swaying the people towards this trend or that trend. And this is where I have to confess:

I have not done justice to my own community. I have been outside of my community critiquing it privately. Well that is not going to solve anything. I am now committed to offering constructive criticism as well as getting my hands dirty in my community. Yes everyone needs help but I believe we as African Americans are the saddest case of all. Out of all the ethnicities in America we have been given the most opportunity and we squander it. I am committed to at least figuring out why and attempting to put a stop to it. We are the last in everything except criminality and buffoonery. This is unacceptable! For the past eight years I have been leading and serving in a multiethnic church and it has opened my eyes to other peoples and other cultures but it has also opened my eyes to who I am and the plight of my own people. So Am I too hard on black people? Who knows. I do know that right now I am hard on myself.

Comments
  1. Steve Schenk says:

    “For the past eight years I have been leading and serving in a multiethnic church and it has opened my eyes to other peoples and other cultures but it has also opened my eyes to who I am and the plight of my own people.”

    Ain’t that the truth!

    We left behind a very mono-cultural suburban context to come to one of the most diverse urban neighborhoods in the country. I have learn a ton about my new context by just being here for four years. But I have also learned a ton about my previous context by not being there for four years!

    And I think you will have a unique voice in both the Vineyard and the Black community.

    • mayotron says:

      Steven,

      A few months back I read about an anthropological theory on ethnicity and the anthropologist said that ethnicity does not exist
      unless two different peoples are in close proximity. One thing I have noticed is that the people (in this case black people) who are most aware of their blackness are also the people who are closer to other ethnic groups. Hmmm…does this work the same way for whites, asians etc.? I mean do white people who are around a lot of blacks or whoever else start becoming very pro white and speaking white power???

  2. ssofdv says:

    It may be that our people are “too nice,” or – that we lack the fortitude to right the wrongs in our communities. When we do not possess the grit to change our lives as individuals, we certainly will not try to change the masses. For too long, we have lived our lives in secrecy – domestic violence and abuse – child molestation – homosexuality – and whatever sins that we felt needed to stay hushed. Perhaps we learned to live our home life in confidentiality from slavery – who is to say? In either case, it all starts at home.

    Blacks are conditioned to accept abuse as the norm for our race. We are also conditioned to shell out abuse as well – violence – rape – molestation – thievery – incest – whatever. Even in close knit neighborhoods, you will hear, “Lord have mercy,” and yet, no one says anything, or steps to the perpetrators of social ills and takes a stand.

    As far as our spiritual leaders go, there may be a few honest to God Bible believing and preaching ones left – but many have defected from the faith. Even though God’s word predicted that in the Last Days there would be a “falling away,” it doesn’t have to be that way. God just let us know what will be if we didn’t adjust our attitudes and stand up for righteousness. We often resign ourselves to “Oh well,” and falsely accept that we can do nothing about what we do not like. Is this a Black issue only? Not really. It is a human issue. Take America as a whole for instance. We gripe about the rich exploiting us as a country, and yet we do nothing about it. There is power in numbers, but as humans often do, we are waiting for someone – anyone – to stand up and take the lead. No one wants to be the first to speak out against evil. And yet, everyone is waiting for a leader, a hero, a heroine to take them by the hand and slay the evil dragons.

    Blacks lack the courage it takes to win back our neighborhoods – no one is willing to die for a cause anymore. A once powerful people – as a whole – have been brainwashed to accept mediocrity and the vilest of living conditions – preying upon one another – abandoning our faith in God, and allowing the devil – in and out of the pulpit to take over our lives. When we as individuals decide that taking a stand may mean standing alone, only then will there be change. Leaders are not followers. It takes the Grace of God and much fortitude to stand alone. Even those who agree with what you oppose will abandon you if the spotlight accidentally shines on them as well.

    To answer your question – “Am I Too Hard On Black People?” Well, I believe we are not hard enough on ourselves. We must call out wrong, and demand right – but will we? God gives His people the authority and the right to judge unrighteousness within our so-called Christian churches. Believers deny the wisdom of God, and choose to re-write the Bible – “Take your mouth off Gods’ anointed.” Where is the scripture reference to not take Eddie Long or Creflo Dollar to task? It is our God given duty. But we fail time and time again to take a stand – over every matter concerning us as a people.

    Peace

    • ssofdv says:

      “It’s not the malicious acts that will do us in, but the
      appalling silence and indifference of good people.”

      Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr.

    • mayotron says:

      @ssofdv Well spoken. I believe that most people do not see it as their God given duty. It seems like slavery all over again. The new slavemasters are the “daddy rich” preachers. The only thing is their shackles are words and twisted interpretations of scripture. Quoting “Take your mouth off God’s anointed” is not even said in context. People don’t understand when David said that he was trying to insure that no one would kill him when he took the throne. It was a matter of political savvy not a mandate from God to not hold leaders accountable. You have said some great words and when I get discouraged I will look to your comment for inspiration

Leave a Reply

