Too busy to see clearly

Posted: July 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

But a Samaritan, as he traveled, came where the man was; and when he saw him, he took pity on him. Luke 10:34

It is now my firm belief that the busyness of our American lives is contributing to the death of our compassion. In the story of the Good Samaritan the priest and the Levite see the man beaten up on the side of the road but continue on their way. Why? I believe it was not just because he was left for dead in a very dangerous area. I believe it is because they were too busy to really see him. They had other things to do. The Levite had to get the Temple articles together and keep the religious machine going. The priest had to make sacrifices and look priestly in front of everyone. These things were way more important than taking care of a wounded man on the side of the road. To put it simply they were too busy to see with eyes of compassion.

On a personal note: I have been putting off getting my eyes checked and I need to make an appointment with the eye doctor but my spiritual eyes need to be straightened out too. I have realized that now more than any other time the busyness of my life is killing the compassion in my heart. I have eyes but I am not really seeing people. This happens when people are commodities, obstacles, and mirrors but not human. This week I am going to slow down. No internet. No tv. No information overload. Pray that my vision will return.

See you when I get back.

Comments
  1. I pray your time away refreshes you and provides a healing ointment to your weary, bleary sight, my friend! Enjoy!!

    peace

  2. Marilyn says:

    I am late in coming here to comment. Saw this post earlier, but……..hurried on!

    I found this post thought-provoking – a profound and timely truth. I’ve been thinking, too, how the more we are distanced from the calls for compassion, the more isolated and dissatisfied we seem to feel. There is an increasing sense of that in people (isolation and dissatisfaction) and I trace it, at least in part, to our hurriedness and disengagement. Again, you have me off on a thought-tangent!

  3. mayotron says:

    Thanks for this comment Marilyn. My goal is always to get people on thought tangents. It can be very lonely thinking by yourself:)

    On another note we actually did an assignment for my class on the Good Samaritan. We had to write about our eperience of suffering or being an outcast and then interpret the passage. Coming from that angle it was very insightful. I will post more about it later.

Leave a Reply

